On April 13, 2011, the European Commission adopted The Single Market Act. The “Single Market” of the European Union comprises 27 European countries where goods, services, capital and people can circulate freely.

The Single Market Act is a group of 12 initiatives intended to boost growth and enhance confidence in the Single Market. The initiatives address: improving access to finance for the more than 20 million European SMEs (Single Market Enterprises); facilitating the mobility of citizens by modernizing legislation on the recognition of professional qualifications awarded in another member country; improving consumer-business relations by facilitating alternative dispute resolution; boosting the free movement of services by standardizing at European level; improving transport and energy infrastructures; developing the “digital single market” through pan-European operation of electronic identification and signatures; facilitating social entrepreneurship by setting up a European framework for the development of ethical investment funds; developing a consistent tax treatment of different energy sources; enhancing social cohesion by improving the application of legislation on the movement of workers from one member country to another; improving the regulatory business environment by simplifying accounting rules; and modernizing public procurement legislation by making rules simpler and more flexible.

Source: Patent Alert